Oklahoma Girl

Lunch with Butterflies

“There is no passion to be found playing small — in settling for a life that is less than one you are capable of living” -Nelson Mandela.

Nursing school has commenced yet again. Another grueling round of late nights, stress-induced headaches, and eyes that look so sleep-deprived, one would swear you’ve just been given a once over in the boxing ring. But without pain there is little triumph, yes? Please say yes! Because it is only the first week back and I look like hell. Arg.

On the upside, all the man-hours spent pouring over textbooks is beginning to pay off (despite the hunchback I seem to be growing). I am officially halfway done through the lengthy education process and I’m not sure whether to jump for joy or cower in a corner! On the one hand I cannot wait to finally be done and fulfill my passion. And then again…on the other hand, I get butterflies in the pit of my stomach each time I think about being the one responsible for feeding a nasogastric tube down someone’s esophagus.

Soon I have to make a decision about what to do with my last summer of freedom. Do I begin an externship at a hospital or do I follow in the footsteps of my peers and spend my summer at home before my freedom slips away? Ah…decisions decisions!! But a thought occurred thanks to Mr. Nelson…Passion is going for that gut-wrenching, butterfly stomach because what you do will make a difference in someone’s life.

So here’s to the beginning of the end.  The closing of the educational chapter of my life is fast approaching and a new journey will soon present itself. What that journey may be…who knows! But all I know is this new-found drive is going to be taking me places. And tomorrow it is taking me to lunch with the director of nursing at our local hospital. Yikes! Wish me luck, y’all!

1474415_10202746102398546_482896788_n

9 thoughts on “Lunch with Butterflies

Leave a Reply

