Dessert / Recipes

Basic Pie Crust Recipe

I’m starting this post with a question for you all. How in the heck is it time for Thanksgiving already? Wasn’t it just Halloween…like yesterday?! So how can it possibly be time for turkey, loud relatives, and stretchy pants?? Seriously you guys…I feel like I just carved a pumpkin for the front porch last week. How is this real!

Anyways, my astonishment at how time flies is beside the point. The point is…it’s almost turkey day. And that means..I have some serious prep work. Now…if you’re looking for a good turkey recipe, I shall warn you now, the heavily sought after turkey recipe will allude you yet again. As is tradition, the matriarch of our family has that prestigious honor (and all the grunt work that goes with it). But hey, the woman gets twenty-something grins on twenty-something faces, all smiling back at her as she sets out the turkey. And with that we all subsequently loosen the top buttons of our pants and fill our plates…because come on…no one can make it like grandma can! So until then…I have the not-so-prestigious honor of making a dessert to go along with all the other desserts each granddaughter has brought.

1240437_10202702898038464_67042942_n

Here’s the matriarch herself! Good looking bunch of gals, right?

So let me start by saying, there is nothing quite like a warm, homemade pie with a gooey filling and a flaky crust on a brisk, November day. And today just happens to be the perfect day for prep work. I’ve got lunch on the stove. The stove has made it warm and toasty in the kitchen so we have the window above the sink open. We can hear the rustle of the leaves we have yet to rake as they blow in the wind. And of course we have good ‘ole George on the radio (George strait for those of you who don’t have the pleasure to know who the king of country is…for shame). Plus it has been a misty, wet weekend with all the rain.

10341421_10205003117022501_8456749868194971735_n

Here’s the view of our little Oklahoma town with the rain we so desperately needed! Of course…that means, when I stray off this two lane paved beauty for a narrow dirt road with potholes, I inevitably get stuck in the mud and have to summon the man-power of my boyfriend to get un-stuck.

Anyways, the conditions in which led me to meal-prep today is beside the point (yet again). So here’s the deal. I have one last day of class and  I picked up a 12-hour shift at the hospital the day before Thanksgiving. That means I will be up before the sun and I wont be home until its already gone down. And if this weekend was any indication (I worked a code, and did chest compressions until my arms felt like jelly), I will be passed smooth out in my comfy bed within an hour of being home. So I gotta do the grunt work now. And the grunt work for today…pie crusts.

I want to make a bunch of pies, not only for my family but for all those people who helped keep this gal so happy the past year. So here’s what I did, mixed the few ingredients I needed. Shaped the basic pie dough into discs, wrapped them in wax paper so they will be easy to separate later, and then wrapped each wax-papered, pie disc with some clear cling wrap to ensure no freezer burn may hinder the taste of this delicious dough. After wrapping them all up, I stacked them all up in the freezer! and boom!! Prep work is done my friends!

unnamed

This basic pie dough can be used for a variety of fillings, and made to suite your tastes! For example, before wrapping and freezing, add cinnamon or ginger to your pie dough to make an extra flavorful crust! Just remember to move the discs to the fridge to let them defrost overnight before you need them. The dough should stay  good for up to 1 month or more. Enjoy!

Basic Pie Crust Recipe:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cup cold lard
  • 6 tablespoons milk
  1. Mix the flour and salt in a large bowl
  2. add the cold lard, and with a pastry blender, mix until crumbly
  3. add in the milk and with a fork, toss the mixture until combined (dough will be wet/sticky).
  4. divide the dough in half and form into two discs.
  5. wrap each disc in wax paper and then cling wrap. Freeze for up to 1 month, move to refrigerator to defrost overnight before use. Or put fresh dough in fridge for one hour to chill and then be used immediately.
2 thoughts on “Basic Pie Crust Recipe

Leave a Reply

